Awards Whiskey

2012 World Whisky Awards Winners

Whisky Magazine has announced the winners of the 2012 World Whisky Awards. More than 300 whiskies took part in this prestigious competition, representing a variety of different types of whiskey from around the world.

The judges were drawn from the best spirits writers and retailers across the globe, with industry representatives made up of master blenders, distillers and brand ambassadors in the final round.

Here is a selection of the winners:

World’s Best North American Whiskey

Eagle Rare 17 Years Old

Eagle Rare 17 Years Old

World’s Best Single Malt Whisky

Yamazaki 25 Years Old

Yamazaki 25 Years Old

World’s Best Whisky Liqueur

Dunkeld Atholl Brose

World’s Best Blended Whisky

Three Ships 5 Years Old

Three Ships 5 Years Old

Elmer_T_LeeAlso honored was Buffalo Trace's Master Distiller Emeritus Elmer T. Lee, who was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award and inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Elmer began working at the George T. Stagg (now Buffalo Trace) Distillery in Frankfort in 1949. He retired in 1985, but continues to serve as ambassador for Buffalo Trace, educating others on the unique qualities of Kentucky's bourbon whiskey.

In 1984, Elmer introduced the single-barrel bourbon concept to the world with Blanton's Single Barrel Bourbon, named in honor of Col. Albert B. Blanton, another longtime veteran of the distillery.

Elmer is one of only three living master distillers who have a Bourbon whiskey named after them.

Congratulations to all the winners, and especially to Mr. Lee!